Krita Windows and Mac OS progress

Good news for all users that don’t use Linux but still want to run Krita. In the last week lots of progress has been made towards getting Krita to run on Windows and Mac OS X. The Windows work was work was done by stuartmd who is working for KO GmbH. The screenshot below shows current git master running on Windows. The native windows look is a bit ugly, but can of course be changed to Oxygen.

A Windows installer for Krita is expected for the next version later this year. I expect that we will have a quite long testing phase, as there are not many Windows developers and Windows users aren’t used to file bug reports.

Quite a suprise was that almost at the same time forum user pkouame managed to run Krita on the newest Mac OS version. Krita did run on Mac OS for some time, but after almost no Krita developer has an Apple computer anymore so practically nobody did run it.

In other news Anitims Krita DVD can now be preordered.

17 Responses to “Krita Windows and Mac OS progress”

  1. Stuart Says:

    This is exciting news, I look forward to trying Krita on Windows (and will happily create any bug reports).

    I think Krita could become very popular on Windows, GIMP is used by a lot of Windows users but isn’t as easy to use (in my opinion) as Krita.

  2. Guillaume Says:

    Glad to hear that Krita will be ported to Windows and Mac OS. I hope the rest of the Calligra Suite is following as it is a very promising collection of software.

    Will it use Windows/Mac open (or save as) dialogs, or will it be KDE’s ones ?

    As for the native look, VLC is written in Qt too and its default theme in Windows is pretty decent in my opinion. Couldn’t it be used for Krita as well?

  3. slangkamp Says:

    The other calligra applications will also be available.

    As far as I remember it was possible to switch the dialog, but I could be wrong.

  4. Dotan Cohen Says:

    This is great news. I run Kubuntu, but a close friend wants to run Krita on her Windows machine. I tried the KDE Windows installer but it does not contain Krita. I’ll let her know that Krita is “coming” to Windows.

    Thanks!

  5. Home Says:

    I cant get it running in linux. so running in windows is the next step!
    If that fails… no krita for me…

  6. SherylSheryl Says:

    I am excited that Krita may eventually come to the Mac. I have been thinking of running Linux in a virtual machine to run Krita.

  7. Alan Says:

    Waiting for Krita on Windows! No installer needed, just a zip file, and you will get nice bug reports :-)

  8. wongpinter Says:

    when krita available for windows?? please.. please.. please.. T_T

  9. slangkamp Says:

    We have no date for it yet. I assume that a test version might be release till the end of the year.

  10. tayete Says:

    Is the next beta 2.4 going to have Windows version? I am eating my nails to the finger!

  11. slangkamp Says:

    First beta is very soon now. The first Windows version will probably need a bit longer than that.

  12. Charlie B. Says:

    Is this the same one used for Ubuntu? Just wondering….

  13. slangkamp Says:

    @Charlie B.: Not sure what you mean, we have the same codebase for all platforms.

  14. Charlie B. Says:

    I mean, I have an Ubuntu hard drive, I think. It says Ubuntu when I open my PC.

    What I meant was, is there a Krita available in the Ubuntu store?

    Hope that helped.

  15. slangkamp Says:

    Yes, Krita is available for Ubuntu.

  16. Tayete Says:

    Any chance of having an independent (not in a package with other apps) windows release soon? It looks great!

  17. slangkamp Says:

    A single application installer is planned, but work on that hasn’t started yet. We are currently missing someone to do that.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

